Advertise on ChoralNet 
ChoralNet logo
The mission of the ACDA is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.

Capitol Hill Chorale Announces Kevin Siegfried as Resident Composer

Location: District of Columbia, USA
Voicing: Mixed
Frederick Binkholder, Artistic Director of the Capitol Hill Chorale, is pleased to announce the appointment of Kevin Siegfried as the Chorale’s Resident Composer.  This is a new position for the Chorale.
“Working with Kevin over the past several years has been very special for the Chorale.  We are thrilled to formalize a long-term relationship with him as our Resident Composer and look forward to working with him now on a regular continuing basis,” said Director Binkholder.  The Capitol Hill Chorale first performed Siegfried’s music in December 2007, having commissioned I Sing of a Maiden from his collection Three English Carols.  In June 2011, the Chorale premiered Child of Earth, a cantata for Mezzo-Soprano, chorus, strings, and harp.  To launch the residency, the Chorale will premiere Siegfried’s Angels Hovering Round in their upcoming “Rivers of Delight” concerts on March 22 & 23, featuring music from the shape note tradition.
The Chorale will collaborate with Siegfried on a number of future projects simultaneously, with the expectation of performing one or more new works annually.  “This is a very special and unusual arrangement,” said Director Binkholder.  “Not being limited to a set period means that we can explore, change, and adapt as a creative team, with the possibility of commissioning longer works several years out.” 
To request a free PDF perusal copy of “Angels Hovering Round,” go to this page.
For more about about the Chorale's "Rivers of Delight" concerts, view the video below.
The Capitol Hill Chorale is a 100-voice auditioned chorus in Washington D.C. under the direction of Artistic Director Frederick Binkholder.  Founded in 1993, the Chorale performs a wide repertory of choral music.  North American premieres include Gretchninoff’s All-Night Vigil, op. 59 (1912), and Georgian composer Zakaria Paliashvili’s Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom (1910), as well as premieres of works by Siegfried, Leo Nestor, and Daron Hagen.
For more information, visit: