Advertise on ChoralNet 
ChoralNet logo
The mission of the ACDA is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.

Jonathan C. Adams

Location: Arkansas, USA
Jonathan Adams is a cum laude graduate of Arkansas State University where he received both his Bachelor of Music Ed. and his Master of Music Ed. degrees. While at ASU, he studied choral music with the late Alfred Skoog and composition with Jared Spears. As a senior at ASU, Adams was featured in "Who's Who Among America's College Students". 

Adams has been composing since age 18 and has many works in print. His compositions have been performed by such diverse choirs as the Florilegium Chamber Choir of New York, under the direction of JoAnn Rice, the Coral de Sao Domingos of Montemor-o-Novo, Portugal conducted by Joao Luis Nabo, Tirn Aill conducted by Matias Martinez of Argentina, Vox Camerata of Singapore, and the Consort Chorale of San Anselmo, CA. under the direction of Robert Allan Petker. His work has also been featured by the Arkansas State University Concert Choir, the University of Mississippi Concert Singers,and the Arkansas Tech University Chamber Choir. His music has been used for several All-Region and All-Conference Choirs, including the Alabama Jr. High All-State and the Northwest and Southern ACDA Jr. Honor Choirs, as well as a commissioned work for the Southwest ACDA Jr. Honor Choir, conducted by Patrick Freer.

In 2000, 2004 and 2005 Adams was included in “Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers" and was honored in 2007 by his home state when the Arkansas Choral Directors Association commissioned Adams to write a piece in honor of the 40th anniversary of the Arkansas All-State Choirs. November 2008 saw the release of "I Believe in the Sun" on the CD "Hear My Prayer" by the Atlanta Sacred Chorale, conducted by Eric Nelson. August 2010 marked Adams' first appearance as a writer, as his piece, "The Ancient Track" for SATB and Piano (based on the poem by H. P. Lovecraft) and an article on the composition of the piece appeared in the Lovecraft Annual #4, edited by S. T. Joshi and David Schultz and published by Hippocampus Press. In 2015, the publisher Fedogen and Bremer released Fungi from Yuggoth, a collection of classical settings of Lovecrafts poetry and prose.  Adams' setting of "The Ancient Track" and "Sunset" were included in this historic compilation. Adams' latest work is published by E.C. Schirmer Music, G. Schirmer, Pavane Publishing of San Pedro, California, Santa Barbara Music Press, Shawnee Music Press, Augsburg Fortress Publishing.

Adams teaches at Nettleton High School in Jonesboro, Arkansas and currently resides with his wife Kim and their daughters, Olivia Ann and Madeline Claire. He is a member of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) from whom he has received several awards, the American Choral Directors Association, the American Composers Forum, and Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia. In 2013, Adams was named a National Arts Associate by Sigma Alpha Iota Music Fraternity. Please go to his Facebook page (see below) to contact the composer.

  • Three Songs from Edgar Allan Poe - SATB and Piano - CMS Press
  1. Hymn from 'Morella'
  2. Evening Star
  3. Eldorado
  • Gifts - SSA and Piano - Colla Voce/Plymouth Music
  • Annabel Lee - SATB and Piano - CMS Press
  • Deadman's Dirge - TTB and Piano - CMS Press
  • It's all I have to Bring...- SATB and Piano, SSA and piano - CMS Press
  • Praise Song - SAB and Percussion - CMS Press
  • A Red, Red Rose - SATB and Piano - Heritage Music Press -
  • Reeds of Innocence - SAB and Piano - Warner Bros.
  • Places among the Stars - SATB and Piano - Heritage Music Press
  • Coming in the Fall - SATB and Piano - Alliance Music Publications
  • Windy Nights - SATB and Piano - Alliance Music Publications
  • Ring Out, Wild Bells - SATB and Piano - Alliance Music Publications
  • Voyagers - SATB and Piano - Alliance Music Publications
  • Alone - SATB and Piano - Alliance Music Publications
  • High Flight - SATB a cappella - Pavane Publishing/Hal Leonard
  • The Plans I have for You - SSATBB a cappella or accompanied - Pavane Publishing/Hal Leonard
  • I Believe in the Sun - SSATB a cappella (dedicated to the victims of Hurricane Katrina) - Pavane Publishing/Hal Leonard
  • "Emily Dickinson Speaks of Time and Forever"
  1. The Chariot - SATB and Piano - Santa Barbara Music Publishing
  2. Forever - is composed of Nows - SATB and Piano - Santa Barbara Music Publishing

ChoralNet Communities