Advertise on ChoralNet 
ChoralNet logo
The mission of the ACDA is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.

What's on Great Sacred Music, Sunday, August 10, 2014

Location: North Carolina, USA
In case you cannot hear the show live, the playlist is on Spotify for you to enjoy: GSM - August 10, 2014
Don't forget that we have more choral and organ music programmed on Sunday
evenings beginning at 10 p.m. eastern.
Rob Kennedy
Great Sacred Music
The Classical Station


Sir John Goss: O Saviour of the World

St. Paul's Cathedral Choir, London, John Scott

Andrew Lucas, organ


Herbert Howells: O pray for the peace of Jerusalem

Choir of Gloucester Cathedral, John Sanders

Mark Blatchly, organ


Louis Vierne: Epitaph

Simon Lindley, organ


These first three pieces express my very personal wish that all the warfare

we are seeing in the world today would cease. Would that we all could live in

peace and harmony. Music has a way of expressing what cannot easily be said

in mere words. As Saint Augustine put it, “Qui bene cantat bis orat“ (He who sings

prays twice).



Francis Jackson: Word made flesh

Choir of York Minster, Philip Moore

John Scott Whitely, organ


Zoltan Kodaly: Psalm 114

Brighton Festival Chorus, Laszlo Heltay

Elizabeth Gale, soprano; Sally Le Sage, soprano;

Hannah Francis, soprano; Alfred Hodgson,

contralto; Ian Caley, tenor; Michael Rippon, bass;

Gillian Weir, organ


C.P.E. Bach: Fugue on B-A-C-H

Heinrich Hamm, organ

The c1741 Gabler organ in The Basilica of Weingarten


Dr. Francis Jackson (1917-) was organist of York Minster for thirty-six years.

Zoltan Kodaly (1882-1967) was a Hungarian composer and educator. His Kodaly

Method is highly regarded. Carl Phillipp Emanuel Bach (1744-1788) was the godson

of Georg Philipp Telemann.



Morten Lauridsen: Ave Maria

Polyphony, Stephen Layton


Dan Locklair: Pater noster (Our Father)

Vocal Arts Ensemble of Durham, Rodney Wynkoop


Charles-Marie Widor: 3rd mvt (Allegro) ~ Symphonie Gothique (No.

9) in C minor, Op. 70, Ben van Oosten, organ

The Cavaille-Coll organ in the church of Saint-Ouen, Rouen


Morten Johannes Lauridsen (1943-) was born in Colfax, Washington,. He was

a Forest Service firefighter before becoming a composer. Dan Locklair (1949-) is

Composer-in-Residence at Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

The distinguished French organ builder Aristide Cavaille-Col incorporated the architecture

of older French organs into his grand vision of a symphonic organ.



from the Los Huelgas Codex, c. 1300: Kyrie: Rex virginum amator ~ Mass

Anonymous 4


James MacMillan: A Child's Prayer

Choir of Westminster Cathedral, Martin Baker


Margaret Vardell Sandresky

Agnus Dei ~ L'homme arme Organ Mass

Frances Nobert, organ


The Los Huelgas Codex was discovered in the Cistercian convent of Santa María

la Real de Los Huelgas in Burgos, Spain in 1904. It dates from the 14th century.

Scottish composer James MacMillan wrote his “A Child’s Prayer” in memory of the

fifteen children who died in the Dunblane School Massacre of March 1996. You can read

a more detailed account of the music here. Margaret Vardell Sandresky (1921-)  attended

Salem Academy and Salem College in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.



J.S. Bach: Cantata 178, "Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns halt"

Bach Collegium Japan, Masaaki Suzuki

Yukari Nonoshita, soprano; Matthew White, alto;

Makoto Sakurada, tenor; Peter Kooy, bass-baritone


The German translates as "If God the Lord is not with us". Simon Crouch has written a fine commentary

about this cantata.



Peter I. Tchaikovsky: Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom, Op.41

Corydon Singers, Matthew Best


Tchaikovsky’s setting of the ancient chants of the Russian orthodox is simple and

straightforward. The composer opens a window into an unknown world of music

and liturgy so that you and I can experience it.



Leo Sowerby: Forsaken of Man

William Ferris Chorale, William Ferris

Thomas Weisflog, organ


Leo Sowerby (1895-1968) was born in Grand Rapids, Michigan. His cantata “Forsaken

of Man” is based on the Passion of Christ. It uses texts by Edward Borgers and the Gospels.